Skip to content

Kenya, Burkina Faso, and Cote d’Ivoire to Sign CAADP Compacts

July 22, 2010

From CAADP: Kenya, Burkina Faso, and Ivory Coast, within the next few days, will sign the CAADP compacts bringing the number of countries that are committed to improving their agriculture to 22 according to Martin Bwalya, head of CAADP at the Nepad Planning and Coordinating Agency. Bwalya was addressing the media at a press conference organized ahead of the CAADP Day that took place in Ouagadougou Burkina Faso. CAADP compacts among other areas compel African governments to commit to agriculture by allocating 10% of their national budgets to the sector and challenge countries to attain at least 6% sectoral growth per annum.

More info available here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: